Government of Montserrat


The Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports announces that applications are now being accepted for the ‘Montserrat Island Scholarship’.

The Scholarship, which is valued at EC$80,000.00 per annum will be awarded to a single applicant who has demonstrated exceptional academic ability, excellence in co-curricular activities and has been accepted to an approved university, college or institution.

The applicant should be someone who is dedicated to improving the lives of all Montserratians, and has demonstrated a strong moral character and the potential to lead.

The scholarship is a renewable award for up to three (3) years of undergraduate study tenable at the University of the West Indies (UWI) or at any university, college or institution approved by the Legislative Assembly. Consideration will also be given to specific undergraduate degrees whose required programme exceeds three (3) years up to seven (7) years in length.

The Montserrat Island Scholar is expected to contribute to the overall development of Montserrat by providing service and applying their talents and knowledge to improve the lives of Montserratians and residents of Montserrat.

To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must:
1. Have completed three years of schooling in Montserrat immediately before their final CAPE examinations;
2. Have passed a minimum of 5 CXC CSEC subjects including English Language;
3. Display good conduct and deportment at school and in the community.
4. Be a Montserratian or the child of a Montserratian or the child of a resident non-Montserratian from a country with reciprocal scholarship provisions.

Interested persons must submit applications to the Chairperson of the National Training and Scholarship Advisory Committee by Monday, July 29, 2019.

Application forms may be obtained by emailing More details on the Scholarship can be found in sections 145 – 153 of the Education Act. The direct link to the ‘Act’ is:

The Ministry also noted that it is possible for selected students of the secondary school and students and teachers admitted to tertiary institutions to received grants and bursaries under the scholarship programme.